Bike Share Coming to San Diego!

San Diego will join a growing list of US cities that has a Bike Share program in October. The bikes will be available to anyone that has a membership in the program, for a fee. Most of the stations will be in the downtown area, with the remainder in the central city area, such as North Park, Hillcrest, and Old Town. The bike share program is planned to start on October 30, 2014. I look forward to seeing this adding to our growing bicycling community here in San Diego as well as helping tourists around in “America’s Finest City”.

New Bicycle Law Coming on September 16, 2014

A new law will be enacted in California on Tuesday, September 16, 2014 that requires motorists to pass a bicyclists with a minimum of three feet. This new law – CVC 21760 – is as follows:

21760.

(a) This section shall be known and may be cited as the Three Feet for Safety Act.

(b) The driver of a motor vehicle overtaking and passing a bicycle that is proceeding in the same direction on a highway shall pass in compliance with the requirements of this article applicable to overtaking and passing a vehicle, and shall do so at a safe distance that does not interfere with the safe operation of the overtaken bicycle, having due regard for the size and speed of the motor vehicle and the bicycle, traffic conditions, weather, visibility, and the surface and width of the highway.
(c) A driver of a motor vehicle shall not overtake or pass a bicycle proceeding in the same direction on a highway at a distance of less than three feet between any part of the motor vehicle and any part of the bicycle or its operator.
(d) If the driver of a motor vehicle is unable to comply with subdivision (c), due to traffic or roadway conditions, the driver shall slow to a speed that is reasonable and prudent, and may pass only when doing so would not endanger the safety of the operator of the bicycle, taking into account the size and speed of the motor vehicle and bicycle, traffic conditions, weather, visibility, and surface and width of the highway.
(e) (1) A violation of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) is an infraction punishable by a fine of thirty-five dollars ($35).
(2) If a collision occurs between a motor vehicle and a bicycle causing bodily injury to the operator of the bicycle, and the driver of the motor vehicle is found to be in violation of subdivision (b), (c), or (d), a two-hundred-twenty-dollar ($220) fine shall be imposed on that driver.
(f) This section shall become operative on September 16, 2014.
Remember, give cyclists a break and at least three feet when passing. Safety is everyone’s responsibility and we all share the same roadways.

Your Resource For Highways, Geology, And More Throughout Southern California Since 1995

%d bloggers like this: